I’m Really Not Sure What to Think of This …

For reasons both arcane and sundry I have acquired a Facebook page (find it here: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100003347781754).

Yes, I too shudder.

Still, there are advantages. It helps with notifications for all my various affiliations: the work I do with the Friends of the Merril Collection both as the editor of their outreach newsletter Sol Rising and in relation to my work as a judge with the Friends of the Merril Short Story Contest, my review work with ChiZine, and my work as a submissions editor with Apex.

And it lets me actually link directly to a hub for the Chiaroscuro Reading Series event I’ll be attending tonight, and track who else is going, which is, actually, vaguely Orwellian. But it’s a useful tool for planning gatherings, sans the Big Brother overtones.

Also, it lets me keep in touch with friends, which is something I have repeatedly proven staggeringly bad at.

Of course, there is the potential that this Facebook thing will turn into a giant black hole into which much of my free time is sucked. Though, between reading submissions for Apex, the Friends of the Merril Short Story Contest, books for review for ChiZine, and my own writing, there isn’t really much chance of that.

Consider the Twitter account I look after for the Friends of the Merril Short Story Contest (@fomcontest), which is, I suppose, quickly becoming a joint contest/personal account, and will likely be a largely personal account between contest reading periods. That proved manageable, once I learned that it was not, in fact, possible to follow every interesting looking link that came up in the raw feed. I suspect the same will be largely true of Facebook.

Like all mad experiments, I suspect only time will tell. Time and the destructive rampage of the now loosed creature escaped from the laboratory as it is pursued by a horde of pitchfork and torch wielding sociopaths in the guise of frolicking villagers.

Yup.

Does anything else smell something burning?

This entry was posted in Ramble, Status Updates, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

