Sale Four So Far This Year

Like the title says, I’ve made another sale.

And, let us stop and consider something for a moment:

Last year was the first year I managed to actually start selling fiction. Over the course of 2011 I made a total of four sales, which is, I think, quite respectable for a first year of sales by an entirely unknown writer.

However, as of yesterday, I have made four sales so far this year – the year being only three months old. April is starting oh so very well :)

Now, the actual sale itself, too, is something I’m going to gloat about. And if you’ll forgive me I’m going to do it loudly, and probably just be randomly happy about it on the blog later on.

Because the sale was a story to Michael Kelly‘s Chilling Tales 2.

You have to know my long and involved history with this anthology before you can realize just how much that sale means to me. And, unfortunately, I’m not interested in telling that story except in person. For all kinds of reasons. Still, it is a monumental sale as far as I am concerned.

And if you know the calibre of the authors who feature in the Chilling Tales anthologies you will understand what I mean when I say that this feels entirely surreal to me.

For those who aren’t aware, for the first volume Mike solicited approximately 40 stories from a pool of exceptional Canadian authors. Authors at different points in their careers, with different strengths and styles. But the one thing they all shared was an ability to write frighteningly well. And that shows in the 18 stories Mike picked for that inaugural volume of Chilling Tales.

And I want so very badly to share the ToC for this one – for which Mike opened up the anthology to unsolicited subs – with you because, even though I only know several names on that ToC right now …  I’m in there with some of the best Canadian writers in the field.

I shit you not.

Thankfully, I understand from Mike that the full ToC should be available sometime in the next week or two. So, soon you won’t have to take my word for it that this is going to be another stellar, home fucking run of an anthology.

You’ll be able to see for yourselves.

This entry was posted in Publications, Ramble, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

