Link Spam!

I’m in a bit of a hurry today, so I’m just going to dump a bunch of things in your laps and dash off again. There will be more of me later (okay, that sounded less inappropriate in my head).

Imaginarium 2013

The Table of Contents for Imaginarium 2013: The Best Canadian Speculative Writing is now online, as are the Honourable Mentions. (You’ll find two of my stories in the latter category, incidentally – huzzah!) The material herein is absolutely fantastic, and one of the distinct advantages of working for the publisher is that I’ve had a chance to not only look at, but work on this book, and it is gorgeous. We make some damn fine books at ChiZine, and this one is an absolute beauty.

Apex Magazine and “Essential Reading”

Johann Thorsson, over at Book Riot, has named Apex Magazine, along with Clarkesworld Magazine and Nightmare Magazine, as the three short story magazines in the field he currently considers essential reading. Thorsson also listed Shimmer and Lightspeed as honourable mentions. I happen to agree wholeheartedly with all of these recommendations, and as I’ve said on Facebook I would also add Ideomancer and Shadows & Tall Trees to a list of short story magazines that are essential reading. And, frankly, I’m quite curious what all of you reading this blog think. So, feel free to chime in with your own thoughts in the Comments.

Pledge Matching for the Carl Brandon Society

For the rest of today (June 13th, 2013 – until 11:59:59: pm, Pacific Time), John Scalzi is matching any pledges made to either the Carl Brandon Society, or the Octavia E. Butler Memorial Scholarship Fund. Which is yet one more reason Scalzi is an awesome human being. You can find out more about what’s going on through the relevant post on Scalzi’s blog, Whateverhttp://whatever.scalzi.com/2013/06/13/pledge-matching-today-for-the-carl-brandon-society/. Toss something in if you can. The Carl Brandon Society is an organization well worth supporting.

There are a number of other things I’d love to share right now, but I’ve got so much to get done, and I’ve got to get back to it.

Enjoy the rest of the day.

This entry was posted in Publications, Ramble, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment