Subtitle Change for Start a Revolution

Yes, I’m literally making a post to notify you of a subtitle change to the Start a Revolution anthology.

Partly because I would like to make sure that people know. Partly because I’m doing some of the back end work on the book, and having to write the revised title repeatedly reminded me that I’ve not yet mentioned that online. (I may have in passing, I just don’t think I made much of it if I did.)

The new full title of the book is Start a Revolution: QUILTBAG Transmutations.

I’ve made the change for a couple of reasons. One is so that the two QUILTBAG anthologies match in terms of subtitle style, since they’re companion books. Another is because that title speaks more succinctly to the primary themes of the book: transformation, change, and revolutions both personal and societal. Still another, and in even more practical cover design context, is to reduce clutter on the cover and make the anthology’s title more visible from a distance (with less text, larger font options become feasible).

In the end, crafting an anthology involves an immense host of practical considerations, and this change is pretty much a thing of practicalities.

Also, if we want to wander into a discussion of subtext, the current subtitle speaks much better to the anthology’s intent.

And no, I’m not going to go into a point by point listing of why because then we’d be here all day. And you have better things to do with your time than listen to me ramble on about semantics at length :)

The book is slated for a May 1st, 2015 release, and promotional efforts are already underway. So if you’d like to be on the list for getting a review copy, please get in touch with me either on Twitter (@sekisetsu) or via e-mail at “adarkandterriblebeauty@gmail.com” and let me know where you would be running a review. Please note that most review copies will be electronic editions, and that distribution will begin once those are actually put together.

This entry was posted in Publications, Ramble, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

