And Somehow it is Now the Middle of August….

Wow. When the hell did that happen?

Well, despite the seemingly overfast disappearance of the first half of this month, the middle of the month brings with it many things. Including the opportunity to submit your work to Interfictions as they’ve just opened up their submissions again for two weeks. And they’ve got guest editors this go round! Awesome, awesome guest fiction editors in the form of Carmen Machado and Sam J. Miller :D

Also, Interfictions appears to have raised their pay rate for fiction since they were last open. Or possibly I have not been keeping up with things properly, but this is the first time I’ve seen the .10/word rate on their submissions guidelines (it used to be .05/word).

To be fair, I have been moving over the last few months. And trying to keep up with everything else.

Speaking of everything else, or a portion of it anyway, I’ve got a new Patreon post up. This is now the third monthly fiction post, and the rotation of B-sides and excerpts of new work means it’s a B-side this time. A story I like, but that doesn’t quite work. Still want to go back and see if I can’t fix that one up at some point. At any rate the current version of that story (all 8,300 words of it) is available to patrons.

And it’s interesting for me to note that in looking at the last couple of months of doing this, the intention of using the monthly schedule to get me back to writing — because I would feel like I need to produce content — is working. I spent time revising the novella I’ve been working on these last couple of years (and it’s now seen a couple of submissions, and that feedback means there’s more work to do with it, though that wasn’t entirely unexpected), started work on a new short story, and have been working on another piece that I’m not talking about publicly just yet.

Getting any writing done around the moving, the (ongoing) apartment hunting, the freelance work, and everything else on this end feels like a definite win at this point.

Actually, I’ve been busy enough that I hadn’t checked the back end of the website for a few days, so I didn’t realize that there’s been an upsurge of activity and visits. Apparently the posts about why I’ve been boycotting going to Sasquan since last year are getting linked to again. It appears the longer of those two posts is being brought up again as evidence of prior trouble at Sasquan, re discussion around Sasquan’s current decision not to ban Lou Antonelli, at David Gerrold’s request, despite everything Antonelli has done up to this point. It’s too long to go into here, so I’m just going to link to two posts by Natalie Luhrs for those who need to catch up on the whole thing: “Pattern Matching: Lou Antonelli and the Sad Puppies,” and “Some Members are More Equal than Others.”

Always feels strange when this website gets several hundred views in a day, and looking back I see that’s been the case for the last three or four days now. Always seems to come out of controversy.

Anyway, moving back to more pleasant things:

Given the date, we are now T-minus one month until The Humanity of Monsters is out in the world. I’m not saying everyone’s obligated to go out and buy a copy the moment it lands or anything. I mean hey, you can totally still pre-order the anthology as well :D

Yes, soon I’ll finally stop doing that.

But for now I’m just happy to keep letting people know that the book exists. And ideally have people spread the word that it’s going to be out there. What can I say? It’s my first anthology as editor. I’m still revelling in the fact that the book’s coming out at all.

And with that, I’ve got work to get back to, and this post has gone on long enough.

Might possibly be some more updates on a couple of things in the next few days. We’ll see.

This entry was posted in Freelance Editing, Publication Opportunities, Publications, Status Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

