“Jenny of the Long Gauge” Longlisted in Ellen Datlow’s Best Horror of the Year 7

Just popping in between doing other things to share some nice news :)

My story “Jenny of the Long Gauge,” which appeared in Silvia Moreno-Garcia‘s Fractured anthology, is included in Ellen Datlow’s Full Recommendation List (the longlist) for Best Horror of the Year: Volume Seven. (That link only gets you the back half. You can find the first half of the list here.)

As I’ve said elsewhere, I think this is awesome because I love that story, and I’m delighted to see it get the nod. Especially after it also got that lovely review from A.C. Wise.

But I also think this news is awesome because it means I’ve had three stories in the Best Horror series longlist over the last two years. (“The Last Summer” and “Weary, Bone Deep” were in the longlist for Best Horror of the Year: Volume Six.)

The company is always exquisite. So many extraordinary writers in that longlist, and with stories included in the the book itself, and/or in the shortlist as well.

I don’t think I’m quite good enough yet to merit inclusion in a Year’s Best volume directly, so longlistings, shortlistings, and honourable mentions are for me an awesome way to track my progress as a writer. And damn but it’s fun to see things like this along the way :D

This entry was posted in Ramble, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

