The Humanity of Monsters Final ToC

Posting this a little later in the day than I’d intended, but this is now finally going live.

First things first, the remaining three writers who have been added to the The Humanity of Monsters ToC since the last update I did to the list of contributors are: Catherynne M. Valente, Yoon Ha Lee, and Nathan Ballingrud.

With those three names added, the final count for stories in the anthology comes to 26, and once everything is written for the book (still pulling together the introduction, acknowledgements, and fiddling with the preliminary layout), the book will be close to 110,000 words. So a fair-sized book in the end. Especially when you consider that I’d originally only planned for about 18 stories. Making me very happy that I get to include this many stories in the anthology.

It also means the book gets to speak to a lightly wider scope than I’d originally thought I’d be able to work with. And that the interactions between stories, and how they play off each other gets to be more complex. But primarily it means that the book gets to have conversations about monstrosity (perceived and actual) in all kinds of forms and interactions, and still play in the deeply liminal core territory I was hoping for it to ply.

But I am rambling.

The book is, as previously mentioned, set to be released in November 2015, through ChiZine Publications. In the meantime I’ve got blurbs to bug people about. And when there’s a cover available to show, you better believe I’ll be posting that up everywhere :D

I’ll eventually put up a separate page for the anthology on the website as well. But I need to revamp and corral the edited books sections on the website anyway because of the other anthologies, and that’s all for when I’ve got a little more time than I have for this today.

For now, here is the final ToC for the anthology:

“Tasting Gomoa” by Chinelo Onwualu
“Dead Sea Fruit” by Kaaron Warren
“and Love shall have no Dominion” by Livia Llewellyn
“The Bread We Eat in Dreams” by Catherynne M. Valente
“The Emperor’s Old Bones” by Gemma Files
“The Things” by Peter Watts
“muo-ka’s Child” by Indrapramit Das
“Six” by Leah Bobet
“The Nazir” by Sofia Samatar
“A Handful of Earth” by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
“In Winter” by Sonya Taaffe
“Never the Same” by Polenth Blake
“Ghostweight” by Yoon Ha Lee
“How to Talk to Girls at Parties” by Neil Gaiman
“Night They Missed the Horror Show” by Joe Lansdale
“Give Her Honey When You Hear Her Scream” by Maria Dahvana Headley
“The Horse Latitudes” by Sunny Moraine
“If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love” by Rachel Swirsky
“Boyfriend and Shark” by Berit Ellingsen
“Mantis Wives” by Kij Johnson
“Proboscis” by Laird Barron
“Out They Come” by Alex Dally MacFarlane
“You Go Where It Takes You” by Nathan Ballingrud
“Dream of the Fisherman’s Wife” by A.C. Wise
“Theories of Pain” by Rose Lemberg
“Terrible Lizards” by Meghan McCarron

[Edit: Because I forgot to mention it in this post, and some people have been asking: Yes, The Humanity of Monsters is an all-reprint volume.]

By all means spread that far and wide. It’s what I’ll be doing :)

This entry was posted in Publications, Ramble and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Humanity of Monsters Final ToC

  1. Pingback: RoseLemberg.net » New shinies!

  2. Pingback: Airplanes and Martian Colonies, Oh My | MISSHALLELUJAH.NET

Leave a comment